General information about the EEA grants

On 21 March 2012 the Memorandum of Understanding between the government of Romania and the governments of Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein was signed, concerning the implementation of the EEA and Norway Financial Mechanism 2009-2014, that allocates Romania funds amounting to 176.443.750 Euro.

This Financial Mechanism covers several funding programmes aiming at reducing the economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and strengthening the bilateral relations between the EEA states and Romania .

The institution that coordinates the implementation and management of EEA grants in Romania is the Ministry for European Funds, and the National Agency for Community Programmes in the Field of Education and Vocational Training (ANPCDEFP) was designated Programme Operator for the "Grants and inter-institutional cooperation" programme, which focuses on higher education.

The total financial value of the "Grants and inter-institutional cooperation" programme is of 4.444.444 Euro, out of which 4.000.000 come from donor countries and the rest is the contribution of the Romanian State. .

The programme is expected to start in June 2013 and end in December 2016.

The programme will provide funding for the following measures:
1. Preparatory visits.
2. Mobility of students and staff.
3. Inter-institutional cooperation.

ANPCDEFP estimates that until the end of the programme it will fund the mobility of around 336 students and 141 teaching staff (both outgoing and incoming), as well as 10 inter-institutional cooperation projects and 20 preparatory visits.

The main beneficiaries of the programme are Romanian universities holding an Erasmus Charter approved by the European Commission, and the partners will be similar institutions or training/stage organisations from Donor States. Within inter-institutional cooperation projects, Romanian universities can associate with universities, research institutes, companies, NGOs, both from Donor States and from other countries that benefit from the EEA Financial Mechanism (Beneficiary States). Full information about Beneficiary States and types of financial assistance can be found at

"Supported by a grant from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway“